Thyme + Garlic Infused Oil

We’re in the midst of a move (bye-bye country ranch, hello sleepy beach town!), and subsequent home remodel which we’re doing ourselves (which we quickly learned sounds much more exciting and romantic than it is). Being that I’ve only painted rocks and approx. 1 canvas in my 31-years life, the task of painting entire rooms can feel – while fun – pretty large! At the moment there are unfinished projects looming around every corner (literally) but the amount of pride I feel when we (almost) finish a room is so worth it! Once this place is done I don’t think I’ll ever move.

All of that being said, with the current state of things dirtying the kitchen to make dinner can seem way more daunting than usual. I had one of those nights the other night where I started to prep, stopped and looked around the kitchen, and decided that going out sounded way better. Which ended up working in my favor! The prep work that I had started was an infused oil for a squash salad (the latter I still have yet to make) that only got better the longer it sat.  I infused olive oil with a bunch of fresh thyme and some smashed garlic, gently heated it, and then allowed it to marinate. I’ve been using it on everything – from green salads to pasta salads to roasted veggies to hummus – it’s been the yummiest addition to each dish it dresses! The recipe below makes a small batch, so feel free to double (or quadruple!) it to keep enough on hand. I went through my first batch in 2 days.  But, I am a bit of an oil fanatic 🙂

This oil is feeds the heart + brain, is antihypertensive + cholesterol reducing, is mood-boosting, & is loaded with cancer-fighting + skin & hair feeding compounds!

FullSizeRender


Thyme + Garlic Infused Oil

(Vegan, gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, sugar-free, soy-free, keto-friendly)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup EVOO

1 big handful thyme sprigs (sticks ok) – I like to smash the leaves in my fingers to release oil

1 garlic clove, smashed

Pinch of Pink Himalayan Sea Salt

Easiest Instructions:

1, Place all items in a pot and heat over medium-high heat just until bubbles start to form.

2. Turn off heat and let sit and cool for at least 30 minutes.

3. Pour into jar and cover. I let mine seep in the jar for 3 days prior to using.


 

Leave a Reply

